Needing to follow a gluten-free diet can be difficult at times and can stop people from getting to enjoy their favorite foods. Over the years, the amount of people that follow a gluten-free diet has increased. Because of this, there have been more gluten-free options and recipes made available. Luckily, one of those recipes is a gluten-free pizza dough! Pizza is an extremely popular food and probably most people’s favorite, so it only makes sense that it can be made gluten-free! 

What makes a recipe gluten-free?

Before trying any gluten-free recipes it probably helps to know what exactly gluten is and ways to avoid it. Gluten is a mixture of proteins that are found in grains such as barley, wheat, and rye. Gluten is what gives grain-based foods their texture and shape, but it can also be harmful to people with gluten allergies. 

Cooking gluten-free involves using certain types of grains that do not include gluten and instead include a non-allergenic binding agent to give the food its texture and shape. 

Making Gluten-Free Pizza 

A gluten-free pizza doesn’t mean the pizza will taste completely different. Gluten-free pizza is rather tasty and an amazing alternative. There are only a few changes that need to be made when preparing a gluten-pizza. 

Making the Dough

Making the dough of a gluten-free pizza is the most important part as that is where the gluten usually is. To make gluten-free dough use a normal recipe for pizza dough and simply substitute the flour with gluten-free flour. The only thing this will change is that this crust will be a little more delicate than a regular pizza crust. It is usually thinner, crisper, and not as doughy which sometimes makes the pizza even better as some people enjoy more of a crisp crust than a doughy crust.

You can find gluten-free flour in almost any supermarket these days. You could also use flours such as oat flour, almond flour, buckwheat flour, etc. If you are using oat flour, almond flour, etc. it is recommended to use half of that flour and half a gluten-free flour mix found in the stores. If you use only oat flour, almond flour, etc. your pizza might be a little too flat. But hey, if you like it that way then don’t let anything stop you and make it that way! 

Gluten-Free Toppings

Once you have made the gluten-free crust, you’ll want to add some delicious toppings to your pizza. Mozzarella, gorgonzola, cheddar, and feta are delicious cheeses for pizza and they are already gluten-free! You can also add some gluten-free meats such as pork products, chicken, and sausage. Lastly, almost all vegetables are gluten-free so go crazy with those on your pizza!

Order from NEO Pizza in Maryland

Did you have the big idea to make your own gluten-free pizza but now don’t have the energy to actually make it? That’s ok! Save making your own gluten-free pizza for another night and just order a gluten-free pizza from NEO Pizza! We offer gluten-free crusts that can be paired with any of our pizzas. We also offer a “build your own pizza” option so tell us your ideal gluten-free pizza and let us do all the cooking for you! Visit us today at one of our locations or order online and feel free to contact us with any questions.